Six More Months!

So by my own timeline, I’m late getting out a new post. Even still for me to even be posting is an accomplishment, so claps for that. There’s really not much I want or need to say about my past month. Besides the weather being out of it’s mind, everything’s been normal and everyday. Isn’t that weird to see a Peace Corps Volunteer write that their life is normal and everyday. I live in a village, in the a partially recognized state in Eastern Europe and I have the audacity to write that my life is normal and everyday. But it is, and I think that’s the beauty of the second year of service. It might even be the beauty of living in any foreign place for a long period of time.

And speaking of time, mine here in Kosovo is almost over. As of February 19th I’ve entered into my last six months of service. My COS (close of service) conference is in May and my last day of school in June. I didn’t extend when given the chance and I don’t think I’ll be leaving early, so just like my volunteer friend said when we last met, “Whenever they say I can go, I’ll go”. It’s that simple for me too. I really lucked out with my service, in my country invitation and in my site placement. I talk to people here so much about how I really love the country and its people that many of my colleagues are surprised I didn’t decide to stay for an extra year. However, for me the choice to not stay was just as much dependent on me deciding that I wanted to be at a certain place a year from now (which wasn’t Kosovo) as was on me realizing that there’s not much else that I can give to my community that I haven’t already given or plan to give in the few more months before I leave.

Six months is not a long time at all, especially when you’re talking in terms of a 27-month service. I plan on having fun in these next few months though. Keeping my head down, doing as much work as I do can for my students both in and outside the classroom, developing good habits to take back with me, as well as trying to get rid of some of the old ones. I’ve already been trying to adopt the habit of waking up a 5:30 a.m. every morning despite the fact that I’m not a morning people at all. Just one thing on the laundry list of things that I’d like to accomplish before my six months is up.

 

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.” ~ Fed DeVito

Leave a Reply

