My (Real) First Day of School

I feel like I finally have something to write about, apart from the day to day adventures of living and working in a foreign country, that is. School in Kosovo officially started September 1st, but unfortunately for me, my school’s currently being renovated. A new roof, new bathrooms, but until the bathrooms are complete the school can’t officially open up to the students. So last week from Monday to Thursday I got up, went to school, amended teachers’ meetings I couldn’t understand, received my books for class, and went back home. There’d be the occasional trip in to Peja for coffee, and the sporadic trip to Rugova where I ate the freshest fish I’d ever had it my life, but that was about it. I was told earlier last week that the bathrooms would be ready by Monday of this week and by the end of last week that statement was corrected and I was told that it’d be another week before they were complete.

Rugova Mountains

Rugova Mountains

I understand about the schedule changes. These things happen, but I was starting to wonder about what that meant for me as a volunteer. What would Peace Corps do if they found out that I wasn’t working in a classroom? What should I be doing instead, besides reviewing the books for the school year? I was considering contacting someone, maybe Peace Corps or the Ministry of Education and seeing if an open school would like a volunteer for a week, but today I learned about the solution that had been agreed upon. As it turns out when the school does finally open we’ll be having class from Monday to Saturday until all the missed days are made up for. My counterpart told me to keep reviewing and rest for this week, because starting next week or so, we’ll be having class six days a week, which I really don’t mind. I like this solution much better than going to visit a school in a community were I won’t be living and working in for the next two years. I’ll gladly work a few Saturdays if it means the students in my community get the attention they need from me when it comes to learning English.

Speaking of students, I had the chance to introduce myself to two of my classes today, while the students were in school being informed about the schedule changes. It was a perfect chance for me to gauge my students’ English ability to figure out what level of understanding most students where at in both classes. I’m really impressed at the level of English that both my classes speak. Because today wasn’t a real class day I tried to make the exchange communicative as opposed to focused on accuracy or grammar. There were nerves on both sides, but the more we talked the more they opened up and in the second class there were enough students to play a game.

After exhausting the standard, “What’s your name? “How was your summer? questions, I saw that I was losing their attention quickly. I asked if they wanted to play a game and this one student was very adamant in saying that she didn’t like playing games in the classroom. I almost went back to asking questions, but decided to at least try the game to see how it’d work. It’s a game I’d played myself before – while studying Albanian – called “Bang, Bang”, a game that another volunteer had introduced us to. It’s a game of speed. Usually how it goes is -when I played – someone would say a word in English and the people playing would have to be the first to say it in Albanian then yell “bang, bang” as they held their fingers like pretend guns. The person who said it first and correctly stayed in place while someone else replaced the loser. Minus, the whole having them fake kill each with pretend guns and shouts of “bang, bang”, I basically had two students stand in the front of the class facing each other as I called out a word in Albanian. It was the perfect opportunity to embarrass myself in Albanian, so that they knew it was okay to potentially embarrass themselves in English.

It was a great game for them, allowing them to review the English they’d learned, without the atmosphere being terribly competitive. By the time my counterpart said that it was time to go, all the students had taken at least two turns (including the girl who wasn’t interested in playing games in class) and they still expressed interest in continuing the game even though “class” was over. That kind of enthusiasm for school makes me really happy as a teacher. It’s going to be challenging at times for sure, but I’m confident that this is going to be a great school year for all of us.

 

 

“Teaching is more than imparting knowledge, it is inspiring change. Learning is more than absorbing facts, it is acquiring understanding.”  ~William Arthur Ward

One thought on “My (Real) First Day of School

Leave a Reply

