So Far

I’ve been in Kosovo for three weeks now, so it’s about time I’ve written something about my experiences here. The problem is that so much has happened these last three weeks that if I were to give you a minute by minute post of everything, I’d have a novel length post. To generalize things a bit my opinions on Kosovo haven’t really changed all that much since writing my “Kosovo First Impressions” post. If anything they’ve gotten better. I still think that Kosovo is an absolutely beautiful country. Just when I think that I’ve finally gotten use to all of the natural beauty around me, I take a walk down an unfamiliar road or a hike up a hillside, and I’m blown away all over again by the beauty that’s before me. There’s probably a part of me that will never get over the fact that I walk out the door to the sight of rolling hills every morning .

The view from my house in Kosovo.

The view from my house in Kosovo.

People are so amazingly pleasant as well in Kosovo. My host family is amazing and they’re so patient with me as I completely destroy the Albanian language or struggle with explanations of cultural concepts. They’re quick to tell me that my Albanian is improving when I get a particular word or sentence structure right and are very delighted when I take interest in learning about their culture, like how to make Turkish coffee for example. I pretty much have that down so if I ever have guess in my house in the next two years I’ll probably offer them Turkish coffee or Turkish tea. I haven’t learned how to make Turkish tea yet, but I’m eager to learn. I’m very careful to watch my host mom and sister as they work in the kitchen. I’m really determined to learn how to make different Kosovar dishes, because I think it’s some of the best food I’ve had so far. It’s definitely not as easy as it looks though. Sometimes my host mom will start cooking at around 4:00 and the food won’t be ready until around 5:30 or 6:00 when we all sit down to eat. Other times they can have a meal prepared within the blink of an eye, which is nothing but skill to me.

My host sister and I the day we were introduced to our host families.

My host sister and I the day we were introduced to our host families.

Strangers are very pleasant as well and that has a lot to do with Kosovar and American relations, which is a entirely new topic of its own. The general consensus seems to be that people want us here, that they’re happy that we all like and are taking an interest in their country. I’m asked all the time how I like Kosovo and when I say that I like it here and that Kosovo is beautiful people’s moods seem to lighten. It’s like a point of pride for them to have a foreigner praise Kosovo, which is totally understandable. And the Kosovar people should definitely be proud of what they have here. No country is without its ability to improve, but at the point I’m in right now, I feel like there’s a lot more that I’m learning than I’m imparting on the community. That’s really what PST is all about though, integrating, language learning and technical preparation so that we can be effective volunteers once we swear in and enter service. I’m really looking forward to it, my two year service as well as my next eight weeks of PST. I want Kosovo to become my home, but I also want to think of each day I’m here as an adventure.

2 thoughts on “So Far

Leave a Reply

